≡ Menu

Shop Talk Tuesday with Jenny Meyerhoff!

Today we have Jenny Meyerhoff joining us in the shop! Jenny is a Class of 2k8 member and the author of THIRD GRADE BABY, a chapter book which Instructor Magazine says is “a great choice for fans of Clementine, Junie B. Jones and Judy Moody.”

s320x240.jpg

So welcome, Jenny! Grab some coffee, get comfy in th chair and let’s get down tot the gossip. First off, when’s the last time you treated yourself to a manicure?

I don’t get manicures too often, but I love a pedicure. I get them at least once a month. There is a little nail boutique right next door to the café where I write, and it’s a nice little reward/incentive. Plus every pedicure comes with a shoulder rub—great after a few hours hunched over a keyboard.

What’s the most regrettable hairstyle you ever had?
I have naturally curly, baby fine hair. An odd combination, I know. As a kid, my hair didn’t even start growing in until I was in elementary school, and then my mother kept it cut short. It was too tangly and hard to take care of. But short hair did not flatter me. Mostly people thought I was a boy. If I had a nickel for every time someone called me son, I’d be able to support my writing career!

jenny.JPG

Aww, too cute! Love the pose, too. 😉 Okay, what hair-styling product can you not live without?

Can I name a book here? It’s called CURLY GIRL, by Lorraine Massey and Deborah Chiel. It taught me so much about how to properly take care of my curls. I no longer have frizz! It’s a must read for anyone with curly or wavy hair.

Time for your Hypothetical Questions of the Week:

HQ #1: If you followed the career path you chose for yourself in high school, what would you be doing for a living right now?

At my high school, we all had to take one of those personality inventories that predicts what jobs you are best suited for, and that test told me I should be a forest ranger. I wanted to be a writer, and I thought it was ridiculous. I am now a writer, but I live in a forest. The town I’m from has a law that you can’t cut down any trees and all our lots are heavily wooded. I guess that test was able to pick up on an affinity for nature I didn’t even realize I had.

HQ #2: iTunes has invited you to submit a Celebrity Playlist of all your favorite songs. What tunes would make your top picks?
My favorite songs are changing all the time. Here’s what I’ve been listening to lately:
Rain by Patti Griffin
The King of Carrot Flowers, Pt. 1 by Neutral Milk Hotel
California Stars by Wilco and Billy Bragg
Following an Angel by They Might Be Giants
Hallelujah by Jeff Buckley
The Real Slim Shady by Eminem
Our Song by Taylor Swift
Modern Nature by Sondre Lerche

The Lightning Round: No more than two words per answer!

Do you….

Outline or wing it? Outline
Talk about works-in-progress, or keep your trap shut? Shut, preferably.
Sell by proposal or completed draft? Draft
Love to edit or cringe at the thought? Linge. Crove?
Prefer writing a new book or marketing the old? Writing!
Write better at home or in a coffee shop? Coffee shop
Read your released book or no, I’ve read it enough? No way!

And finally, what’s your favorite…

Time to write? Morning
Movie? BBC Pride and Prejudice/Princess Bride
Book? Persuasion
Author? Jane
Song? Can’t pick one
Pair of shoes? Bare feet
Guiltiest pleasure? America’s Next Top Model
Line from a movie? “Stop that rhyming now I mean it! Anybody want a peanut?”

Thanks for stopping by, Jenny, and best of luck with Third Grade Baby! Oh, and America’s Next Top Model is NOT a guilty pleasure. It’s a necessity, my friend. Rock of Love Charm School? Now that’s a guilty pleasure. 😉

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

Next post:

Previous post: